

At a meeting of the LEICESTER CITY COUNCIL held at the Town Hall at FOUR FIFTY PM in the afternoon on Wednesday, 19 FEBRUARY 2020 duly convened for the business hereunder mentioned.

========

### **BUSINESS**

\_\_\_\_\_

- 1. LORD MAYOR'S ANNOUNCEMENTS
- 2. **DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST**
- 3. APPOINTMENT OF HONORARY ALDERMEN
  - 3 (a) HONORARY ALDERMEN NOMINATION CRITERIA
  - 3 (b) APPOINTMENT OF HONORARY ALDERMEN

# Fire & Emergency Evacuation Procedure

- The Council Chamber Fire Exits are the two entrances either side of the top bench or under the balcony in the far left corner of the room.
- In the event of an emergency alarm sounding make your way to Town Hall Square and assemble on the far side of the fountain.
- Anyone who is unable to evacuate using stairs should speak to any of the Town Hall staff at the beginning of the meeting who will offer advice on evacuation arrangements.
- From the public gallery, exit via the way you came in, or via the Chamber as directed by Town Hall staff.

# Filming and Recording the Meeting

The Council is committed to transparency and supports efforts to record and share reports of proceedings of public meetings through a variety of means, including social media. In accordance with government regulations and the Council's policy, persons and press attending any meeting of the Council open to the public (except Licensing Sub Committees and where the public have been formally excluded) are allowed to record and/or report all or part of that meeting. Details of the Council's policy are available at <a href="https://www.leicester.gov.uk">www.leicester.gov.uk</a> or from Democratic Support.

If you intend to film or make an audio recording of a meeting you are asked to notify the relevant Democratic Support Officer in advance of the meeting to ensure that participants can be notified in advance and consideration given to practicalities such as allocating appropriate space in the public gallery etc.

The aim of the Regulations and of the Council's policy is to encourage public interest and engagement so in recording or reporting on proceedings members of the public are asked:

- ✓ to respect the right of others to view and hear debates without interruption;
- ✓ to ensure that the sound on any device is fully muted and intrusive lighting avoided;
- ✓ where filming, to only focus on those people actively participating in the meeting;
- ✓ where filming, to (via the Chair of the meeting) ensure that those present are aware that they may be filmed and respect any requests to not be filmed.

### PRESENT:

## ANNETTE BYRNE, LORD MAYOR CHAIRMAN

### SIR PETER SOULSBY - CITY MAYOR

Abbey Ward North Evington Ward

MANJIT KAUR SAINI LUIS FONSECA VIJAY SINGH RIYAIT RASHMIKANT JOSHI

<u>Aylestone Ward</u> <u>Rushey Mead Ward</u>

ADAM CLARKE RITA PATEL

NIGEL CARL PORTER ROSS WILLMOTT

Beaumont Leys Ward Saffron Ward

HEMANT RAE BHATIA ELLY CUTKELVIN

VI DEMPSTER

PAUL THOMAS WESTLEY

Belgrave Ward Spinney Hills Ward

PADMINI CHAMUND MISBAH BATOOL

**NITA SOLANKI** 

MAHENDRA VALAND

Braunstone Park and Rowley Fields Stoneygate Ward

SUE BARTON KIRK MASTER

ELAINE HALFORD SHARMEN RAHMAN

<u>Castle Ward</u> <u>Thurncourt Ward</u>

DANNY MYERS TERESA ALDRED

STEPHAN GEE

Evington Ward Troon Ward

DEEPAK BAJAJ

RATILAL BHAGWAN GOVIND

Eyres Monsell Ward Westcotes Ward

ELAINE PANTLING JACKY NANGREAVE KAREN PICKERING SARAH RUSSELL

Fosse Ward

TED CASSIDY SUE WADDINGTON

Humberstone and Hamilton Ward

RUMA ALI GURINDER SINGH SANDHU JOHN THOMAS

Knighton Ward

DR LYNN MOORE GEOFF WHITTLE Western Ward

LINDSAY BROADWELL GEORGE COLE GARY O'DONNELL

Wycliffe Ward

HANIF AQBANY MOHAMMED DAWOOD

### 53. LORD MAYOR'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

Councillor Jean Khote

The Lord Mayor reflected upon the sad news regarding Councillor Jean Khote who passed away on 13<sup>th</sup> February following a period of ill health. The Lord Mayor noted that Jean was a well-liked Councillor who was determined in her efforts to make a difference for the people of her North Evington ward. Jean would be dearly missed by her family, all Councillors and the communities of North Evington.

The City Mayor also spoke about Jean's efforts in serving the people of her ward and the city. She also had the ability to express her opinions and make her voice heard. She would be sadly missed by her family, the people of her ward and her contribution to the city as a whole.

Council stood for a minute's silence in memory of Councillor Jean Khote.

#### Royal Visit

The Lord Mayor reported back on the successful visit to Leicester Market by His Royal Highness, the Prince of Wales and Her Royal Highness, the Duchess of Cornwall on Tuesday 11<sup>th</sup> February.

The visit focussed on the outdoor market and Market Square, where 90 schoolchildren from the Spark Arts Festival performed on stage.

His Royal Highness, the Prince of Wales also unveiled a commemorative plaque to formally name the square as Green Dragon Square.

#### Lord Mayor's Spring Ball

The Lord Mayor reminded Council about her forthcoming spring ball to be held on Saturday 7<sup>th</sup> March at Devonshire Place. All were invited to attend.

Lady Mayoress' Coffee Morning

The Lord Mayor also reminded Council about the forthcoming coffee morning on Saturday 4<sup>th</sup> April to be held the Town Hall.

#### **54. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST**

The Lord Mayor invited Members to declare any interests they may have in the business on the agenda.

There were no declarations.

### 55. HONORARY ALDERMEN - NOMINATION CRITERIA

Moved by Councillor Riyait, seconded by Councillor Cole and carried:

That the amendments to the nomination criteria for the title of Honorary Aldermen indicated in paragraph 5.4 of the report be approved.

#### **56. APPOINTMENT OF HONORARY ALDERMEN**

Moved by Councillor Riyait, seconded by Councillor Cole and carried:

That, in accordance with the provisions of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 and in accordance with the Council's policy on the Appointment of Honorary Aldermen, to consider proposals to confer the title of Honorary Alderman on the following former members of the City Council, it be confirmed that:-

Dawn Alfonso; Harshad Bhavsar; Virginia Cleaver; Dr Shofiqul Chowdhury; Peter Coley; Iqbal Desai; Inderjit Gugnani; Lynn Senior; and Malcolm Unsworth

be each appointed as an Honorary Alderman of the Leicester City Council.

# **57. CLOSE OF MEETING**

The meeting closed at 4.59pm.